Skip to content
/ Student Life  /   Medical Student Council  /   Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Coalition

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Coalition

Coalition Description

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Coalition at IUSM strives to advocate for enhancing the medical school study body’s cultural competence through an alliance of student leadership from organizations supported by the Office of Diversity Affairs at IUSM.

These affinity organizations include:

  • Alliance at IUSM (Alliance)
  • American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA)
  • Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association (APAMSA)
  • Latin Medical Student Association (LMSA)
  • Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

The DEI Coalition at IUSM seeks to encourage, enable, and empower the IUSM community on schoolwide diversity initiatives through recommendations, projects, events, and activities in the following areas (but are not limited to):

  • Recruitment, Admissions, and Retention
  • Campus Climate
  • DEI Training
  • Academic Curriculum
  • Community Engagement


All members of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at IUSM executive board must be members of the IU School of Medicine, a member of one or more of the established affinity organizations, and in good academic standing. The term limit for all executives is a max of 2 years. One person cannot hold up to two positions with one exception: one person can serve as an Affinity Group Liaison and a Coalition Executive Positions. Available positions include:

  • Vice-President of Administrative Affairs (1)
  • Vice-President of Recruitment, Admissions, and Retention (2)
  • Vice-President of Campus Climate (1)
  • Vice-President of DEI Training (1)
  • Vice-President of Academic Curriculum (1)
  • Vice-President of Community Engagement (1)
  • Vice-President of Social Media and Communications (1)
  • Vice-President of Collaboration and Finance (1)
  • DEI Coalition Secretary (1)

Term length: One year

Accepts applications from current rising second, third and fourth-year students

Contact: DEI Coalition Chair by email and cc faculty advisor Dr. Alvaro Tori by email

Stay Connected