Skip to content
Indiana University School of Medicine

Medical Student Portal

/ Research  /   IMPRS



The Indiana University Medical Student Program for Research and Scholarship (IMPRS) is IU School of Medicine’s official office for medical student research. Whether it’s helping students get involved in paid summer research opportunities in Indiana between the first and second year of medical training or providing students grants and one-on-one advising for international research opportunities, IMPRS is the hub for all medical student research opportunities and support in Indiana and beyond.

  • To provide a diverse array of research and scholarly opportunities to enrich the research and experiential education for all IU School of Medicine medical students.
  • Enhance intellectual inquisitiveness.
  • Foster an environment of scholarly endeavors.
  • Support excellence in the development of physicians, physician-scientists, educators and investigators.
Research Areas

IMPRS focuses on many types of research areas, including:

  • Laboratory/translational opportunities
  • Clinical opportunities
  • Health research outcomes opportunities
  • Community health education opportunities

  • Student research advising
  • Facilitating mentor-student connections
  • Student research funding
  • Connecting students with research and scholarly opportunities in Indiana and beyond
Student Research Committee Members

Faculty, staff and students work together in the IMPRS Student Research committee to provide students access to research support, advising and other resources.


IMPRS is sponsored by The IU School of Medicine Dean’s Office, the Indiana Clinical Translational Science Institute (CTSI), and several National Institutes of Health (NIH) training grants.

Twitter Feed

We want to hear from incoming IMPRS students (and mentors!) on what they’re doing this summer! Respond to this tweet or DM us with your research plans and use the hashtag #IMPRS2021

Global Health Scholars Day showcases the excellent work of the @IndianaUniv community to improve the care of patients worldwide, research #globalhealth, & educate learners about the care of local & global populations.

April 15 at 8 a.m. (via Zoom)

RESEARCH OPPORTUNITY: Urology Underrepresented Minority Summer Experience. Below are links that describe an 8-week paid Urology summer research opportunity intended for underrepresented populations. Review of applicants is currently underway.